Role of the Previous Non-Party Caretaker Governments in Bangladesh

Bangladesh had two caretaker governments before the one appointed in 2001. The first caretaker government was appointed in 1990 following the resignation of Hussain Mohammad Ershad. The major political parties which had launched the agitation against the autocratic rule of Ershad did not any election under him and agreed to the formation of a non-party, neutral caretaker government.This government of Justice Shahabuddin Ahmed, however, had the basis of support from the general people and parties and thus the legality of its activities was never questioned. All measures taken by the caretaker government were thus subsequently ratified in 1991 by the popularly elected Fifth Jatiya Sangsad.