South America: Continent Series

Introductory part of this lecture is to present South America: Continent Series. South America, the planet’s 4th largest continent, includes (12) independent countries and (3) major territories; the Falkland Islands, Galapagos Islands and French Guiana. With a population of 379,500,000, it is the fifth most populous continent falling below Asia, Africa, Europe and North America. The continent contains the world’s highest waterfall, Angel Falls in Venezuela; the largest river, the Amazon River; the longest mountain range, the Andes, and the second driest place on earth, the Atacama Desert in Chile.